Trump’s Executive Order on Immigration

  1. Both immigrant and non-immigrant visa holders from these 7 countries, with certain exceptions, are banned from entering the United States:
    • Iraq
    • Syria
    • Sudan
    • Iran
    • Somalia
    • Lybia
    • Yemen

    2. Green Card holders have to be allowed into the United States:

    While some confusion in the airports remain, this fact sheet states that green card holders will be allowed to board U.S. bound aircraft and assessed at ports of entry.

    “Lawful Permanent Residents of the United States traveling on a valid I-551 will be allowed to board U.S. bound aircraft and will be assessed for exceptions at arrival ports of entry, as appropriate.  The entry of these individuals, subject to national security checks, is in the national interest. Therefore, we expect swift entry for these individuals.”

    From DHS Fact Sheet

    However, there have been reports where green card holders were detained in the airports for hours and where attorneys were denied access to their clients.

    3. U.S. Refugee Admission Program is suspended for 120 days.

    According to the Executive Order, the U.S. Refugee Admission Program will only resume for nationals of those countries deemed safe by the United States government.

    4. Entry into the United States of refugees from Syria is suspended indefinitely. 

    “I hereby proclaim that the entry of nationals of Syria as refugees is detrimental to the interests of the United States and thus suspend any such entry until such time as I have determined that sufficient changes have been made to the USRAP to ensure that admission of Syrian refugees is consistent with the national interest.”

    From Executive Order

    5. Visa Interview Waiver Program is suspended.

    Visa Interview Waiver Program should not be confused with a Visa Waiver Program. The former bypasses an in-person interview requirement with a consular official. The latter, eliminates the requirements of applying for a visa to the United States for residents of certain countries travelling as tourists or business purposes.

    6. This Executive Order applies to dual nationals.

    If any of the people are dual nationals where one of the citizenships the person holds is from the list of seven countries presently banned, then that person cannot be admitted to the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *